Pages

Monday, 10 February 2014

The start? Or do we have to wait?

Oh my gosh. I need to remember that nothing goes as planned with infertility and treatment plans. Yesterday, I was getting dressed and I had a sudden though of "what if there's a cyst on my ovary and this cycle gets cancelled?" My husband was still at his mates house so I sent him a text asking if he'd be able to go into work a little late on Monday and come in to the monitoring blood work and scan with me. As much as I can't stand the company he works for, they are flexible if he needs to take an hour or two off with short notice and I'm so thankful for that.

We got up super early this morning, I made my husband a cup of coffee and let him slowly wake up while I kept myself busy getting ready. Monday mornings are usually crazy busy at my clinic so we got there just as they opened at 7.30am. I didn't have to wait too long to get taken back for the blood work, the nurse I saw was the same one I'd spoken to on Saturday. She's new to the clinic but is lovely. They really needed another nice, friendly nurse.

I also picked up my planner and Gonal F and Orgalutran. And paid the deposit. And got a copy of the new prices for this year, they haven't changed too much. A few things have gone up a little but not a huge amount.

Then we went and waited to see our FS. On Saturday I was told that my FS wasn't in his rooms this week, so I was expecting to see his practice partner or one of the other FSs that work with our clinic. But when I saw the nurse she said that Dr S had been called in today and he'd be doing my scan in between egg pick ups.

Dr S came in about an hour later and did my scan, unfortunately my left ovary has developed another large cyst. I had a gut instinct that this had happened. Dr S warned us that the cycle may be cancelled. He wasn't ready to cancel it just yet, he wanted to wait for the blood work to come back first. He gave me a script for the pill and explained that if the cyst was producing hormones or my hormone levels weren't perfect, I'll go on the pill for 28 days and then we'll start again with another baseline check.

We walked out of the clinic and I made it as far as the hospital carpark before I burst into tears. Poor husband, it seems that every time he comes to an appointment with me I wind up walking out in tears. But I was so glad he was there to give me a hug. By the time we'd driven to my husbands office I'd had my little meltdown and had stopped crying.

I got home a short time later, I was upset at myself for not staying positive and thinking the worst. So I went into my work bag and got out my whiteboard markers and wrote "Stay positive!" on my bathroom mirror. I also wrote up an AA Milne quote that I love. I know it's silly, but I need a reminder and I'm willing to try just about anything!

Then I had a snack, then went and took a nap.  It was the most wonderful nap. I don't know if it was because I was just so tired and disappointed, or because I'd gotten a new pillow, or that the morning sun had warmed up my side of the bed and it was just so cosy, but I slept really well for two hours.

Just as the waiting was really starting to get to me this afternoon, the nurse called me. She'd spoken to my FS and the blood work was perfect! I was to do my first gonal f shot this afternoon and then starting tomorrow do it in the morning.

On Friday I add in the Orgalutran and go for another blood test and then they take it day by day from then.

Here we go!

0 comments:

Post a Comment