Transfer day was on Friday. We had one great quality compacting morula transfered. (Dr S called it a star performer).
When we got to the fertility clinic the embryologist came in and talked to us about the quality of the embryo they were transfering and gave us a picture of it. She also talked about the two that they were still watching. One was at 10 cells and growing slowly, the other was ahead and a cavitating morula but was poor quality. She was lovely and explained that they'd continue to grow and monitor the last two embryos and give me a call on Sunday to let us know if they'd been able to freeze either of them.
Transfer was so much easier than the two previous IUIs. I found the IUIs incredibly painful, getting the catheter through my cervix was not easy either time and took multiple attempts. Because I struggled with the IUIs and my Dr had noted on my chart that I could have a valium before hand. As soon as the nurse offered it to me I said yes. Actually, I think Tony said yes before I did, but he'd had to listen to me babble and talk non stop about my anxieties since the day before.
I'm not sure if it was the valium or if it was the different exam table and the higher footrests that made a difference. But the transfer was painless. There was also a clock above my head and I just watched the second hand the whole time.
We got the all clear from the embryologist that the pipette was empty and the embryo had been transferred, waited for 5 minutes then I got up and got dressed. On the way out I got the receipt to take in to medicare and our health insurance and picked up another box of crinone. I'd been on it once a day since egg pick up but was now to do it twice a day.
And that was it. Pretty easy, no where near as bad as I'd been expecting. Afterwards we went out to lunch and then Tony worked from home while I napped and watched tv.
But today was Sunday and I woke up early and couldn't go back to sleep. I was waiting from the call from the clinic to let me know how the other two embryos were going. Around 11.30am my phone rang and I knew from the tone in the embryologists voice it wasn't good news. She had been so upbeat and positive on Friday it was contagious, but today she was quiet and serious.
The 10 cell embryo hadn't developed any further. The poor quality one had made it to blastocyst but it had no inner mass cells. Those are the cells which will turn into a fetus and then a baby, without inner mass cells if it did implant, it wouldn't progress and would wind up in a miscarriage.
I had kind of been expecting we wouldn't have any to freeze but I was still gutted. I got off the phone and broke the news to Tony. I was fine until I sat back down on the couch a few minutes later and then it hit me. I had a little bit of a teary moment and then pulled myself together.
Now it's just a waiting game. I go in for my beta on the 11th and I'm staying busy and positive until then.
Hi Donna
ReplyDeleteI hope you are well, been waiting for an update :) How are you feeling with your BETA tomorrow? Mine is Friday. Have you done any HPT??