What a week. Last Thursday I woke up and had a bit of a pain in my left ribs. I thought I'd slept in a weird position as my boobs have been hurting so I couldn't sleep in my usual position. I just took a panadol and went on with work. I did notice my hands were a little shaky when I was doing some marking but put it down to not eating properly and having low blood sugar.
Saturday morning the pain in my ribs was still there but I felt good! We went for a walk down the street to have a late breakfast and then when we got home I napped on the couch. But by around 9pm the pain was getting worse. I couldn't find a comfy position on the couch so I sat at my husbands desk and just watched some youtube.
I woke up at 3am and the pain was worse. I grabbed a heatpack and took a panadeine (paracetamol with codeine, my nurse had said they were fine to take for migraines) and eventually went back to sleep.
But I woke up again at 6am and was gasping for breath. It was so frightening. I couldn't breathe deeply without intense pain, I was short of breath and moving was excruciating. I woke Tony up and asked him to take me down to A&E at the hospital my FS works at. I was scared it was blood clot.
We got there and they ran some tests. Three failed IV attempts, two attempts at an xray and the A&E Dr arguing with the radiologist because he refused to xray me even though the on call FS had said it was fine as long as they put the lead apron on me. Eventually the blood work came back and I got the xray done and I was diagnosed me with Pneumonia.
I'd had none of the normal symptoms, just the pain and shortness of breath. It was scary how suddenly this came on. The respiratory Dr thinks that my immune system is lower because I am pregnant and I'd picked it up from one of the kids at work. My shaking hands were more than likely a sign of a low grade fever.
My FS came and saw me on Monday and was a bit concerned. He reassured me that the medications and xray were completely safe but he'd like me to come into his office once I was released from hospital.
Finally on Tuesday at lunch time I was able to go home, my birthday was Wednesday and I desperately wanted to wake up in my own bed on my birthday. My FS was in his office all day so we walked next door and he fitted us in between appointments to do a early scan. I was only 6w1d on Tuesday and I knew that we probably wouldn't be able to see a heartbeat.
My FS explained that he wanted to confirm the location of the pregnancy and measure the pregnancy to make sure it's on track. I knew they were a bit worried about an ectopic pregnancy at the start when my HCG levels weren't rising as fast as they should've been. But there on the screen at the very top of my uterus, exactly where he had transfered the embryo was a perfect gestational sack. Inside was one tiny baby measuring spot on at 6w1d.
And even better was the faint flicker of a very early heartbeat. It looked like a little line flashing on the screen. He took two shots and printed them out for us. Best early birthday present I've ever gotten. I have to go back in three weeks time for a second confirmation scan just to make sure that everything is still on track.
It's been a rough few days, I got sick so quickly and I'm still so weak and run down. I'm on antibiotics for a week and then have to go to my GP for a check up. I'm feeling a bit better today, I've done some washing and the dishes but even those two tasks made me want to take a nap. There's only another week left of term so I'm making myself unavailable until the new term starts after the holidays.
I hope that the rest of my pregnancy is normal and boring.
0 comments:
Post a Comment