Tomorrow marks week eight of pregnancy. Week seven was the week morning sickness arrived. I'd previously had a few days of feeling a bit off, but this week has been different. Ironically, it's never in the mornings. I wake up absolutely staving! But I don't feel sick or queasy until later on in the day.
If I'm a little bit late having lunch, then the nausea hits hard and fast. Even if I eat an early lunch and have snack then I still feel awful around 4pm. I don't even have to look at the clock to know it's nearly 4pm because the waves of nausea would have already let me know.
Usually a snack of cheese and jatz crackers (or cheese, olives and crackers) can make me feel better for a little while. If it doesn't make me feel better, then I'm not eating or making dinner. I just sip iced water (which is a new thing, I usually can't stand iced or cold water) and have some carrot and celery sticks for dinner. Maybe a green apple and another piece of cheese if I think I can stomach it.
For a few days hot salted chips from McDonalds and a regular coke made me feel awesome but as of Friday, that's not working. Hot chips and a regular coke has always worked for me. Post migraine haze and nausea, after anesthesia, sickness and other ickyness I've picked up from work, and even back when I drank and had a hangover it was my cure. It kind of makes me sad to know that my magic cure isn't working.
Luckily, I haven't actually thrown up. I had a close call the day my husband forgot to take the kitchen rubbish out and I had to put it down the garbage chute. I think if I didn't have such a fear of vomiting and such a strong stomach I would've been ill by now.
Oh, and I've been using sea bands for when the nausea is really bad. I don't know if they truly work, or if it's just in my mind but they do seem to help. At least they help take my mind off of feeling ick because they're ugly and itchy and I'm more focused on them they the nausea.
I did have a blissful 24 hours where I felt great this week. I'd felt awful all day, then struggled with dinner but after dinner I started to feel great! And it lasted all night, the next day I even prepared and ate a full lunch, I made my husband one of his favourite meals for dinner but then after dinner started to feel sick again. I think it's the first time since starting the shots back in Feb that I've eaten a full meal and haven't had any low level nasuea or general ickyness.
Just one week to go until the second confirmation scan! I'm really looking forward to it. I also really need the reassurance that everything is still ok.
0 comments:
Post a Comment