Today is 24w1d. The last few weeks have gone well, this last week I've started to realise I need to slow down.
I started having a few dizzy spells last week. Mostly when I was getting up to go to the loo at night. But then on Thursday I was eating a late breakfast and suddenly it felt like everything was tilting to the left.
Then on Friday I scared myself, I was pushing the grocery trolley (cart/buggy thing) and it caught on a bump in the carpark. The trolley stopped but I didn't and it rammed into my belly, just below my ribs. It made me feel sick instantly but it wasn't until I got home and tried to call Tony that I started to worry and panic.
Of course I couldn't get hold of Tony because he was in a meeting and that made it worse. He rang me back and by then I was a mess of tears worried that the trolley had hurt baby. Tony came home from work early reassured me that there wasn't even a red mark or a bruise so baby would be fine.
After I calmed down I went into the kitchen and started baking. I wanted to make jam drop and chocolate chip biscuits for my brothers birthday the next day. I felt really bad that I wasn't baking his cake, and still wanted to bring something home cooked.
But spending all day Friday out, then standing for a few hours in the kitchen made my feet swell up. After we got home from my brothers birthday barbecue on Saturday night my feet and ankles were puffy balloons. I could feel my feet jiggle when I walked and it was awful.
I had my 24 week OB appointment on Monday and told my doctor what had been happening. He checked my feet for swelling and said they were swollen but not too bad. My blood pressure was good, he said it's been a bit low the whole way through this pregnancy so it's more than likely low blood pressure. If it gets worse or happens more frequently I've got to give him or the midwife a call.
But it was scary, my whole family have high blood pressure. Two of my aunts had pre-eclampsia and I was sure I was heading down that path. It's been a reality check that I need to slow down, I can't spend all day and then a few extra hours at night on my feet. And I've stopped driving too, my belly is in the way of the steering wheel and I just don't feel safe anymore. It's not safe for baby, me or other drivers on the road.
Finally onto a few positive things! Baby has been a lot more active. I can see my stomach move now! He's still head down and I see little movements up high which would be his feet and more movements near my belly button which is either elbows or knees. And Tony finally felt him move for the first time last night! Each time I'd say "feel this" and put his hand on my stomach, baby would stop.
I sent off the paperwork to reserve a picnic area and barbecue for the baby shower yesterday. I know ettiquite says you shouldn't throw your own baby shower, but this is just going to be a casual low key one. More of a get both families together for a barbecue than a traditional baby shower. I'm not going to have games, probably just decorating some bibs and onesies and a wishes for baby type activity. My favourite aunty and cousins are flying up for that week and I can't wait to see them!
Still no progress on a first name. Middle name is narrowed down to two names that I switch between. No new stretch marks either. Wearing closed in shoes, bras and pants is awful, I can't wait for the weather to warm up a bit so I can go back to dresses and skirts. I'm craving salted peanuts, Tony brought me home a little bag the other day and they were the best things ever! Still can't eat broccoli but I managed to eat asparagus and green beans in a risotto the other night with no problems. And hormonal meltdowns are still here, I got upset by something Tony said at the supermarket yesterday. I managed to hold it together until we were back in the car but then I just melted down into tears and was a red, blotchy, snotty mess. I'm really ready for the meltdowns and hormonal headaches to stop.
0 comments:
Post a Comment