So I skipped about a month of updates, whoops! I'm well and baby is well. At the morphology scan two weeks ago baby was a perfect little boy! Measuring a few days ahead like last time. Took forever to see get his heart measurements on the scan because he kept rolling around, the same with his lips, he kept pushing his hands up to his face. But he quite happy flashed his bits at the ultrasound wand! There was no doubts about that!
I just felt that I was only writing about my whinges and complaints. But to be honest, I'm not finding this pregnancy easy. I know it's such a blessing that I'm pregnant, without science it wouldn't have been possible.
I also feel guilty complaining about pregnancy and how hard I'm finding it, when I spent years waiting to try to conceive and then even more years trying. When I was trying and I read about someone who'd been through ivf complaining about pregnancy I found really hard. I'd get angry and just couldn't understand why they were complaining about something I wanted so bad.
But now I'm on the other side of ivf, I get it. I totally get it. For me, going through the IUI cycles and then IVF was hard. But it was also only short, each cycle was only for a few weeks at a time. The hormones, side effects and mood swings were there for a few weeks and then there'd be a brief break before starting again. This time there's been no break.
The nausea has finally, finally eased. It only comes back if I forget to eat. But the headaches and migraines are still here. So is the heartburn and reflux. And mood swings, oh boy! The mood swings. I spent most of yesterday just angry at everything but then I cried when I went through the coffee shop drive through and got a hot chocolate because they put extra marshmallows in it for free and it tasted so damn good.
I think this week my belly has popped, I've gone from look fat and frumpy to definitely pregnant. But as a result I think my ribs are starting to expand and hate all my bras. The bands are just too tight and maternity bras are so ugly or expensive. I got teary at Target on Thursday night looking at them but at least I did actually buy one.
We've got nearly all the big items for baby sorted out thanks to the end of financial year sales and the baby and children's expo that was on in Brisbane last month. I got the cot and change table second hand for a great price, I just need to get a mattress and change table pad. My mum bought us the pram (stroller) and we bought the baby capsule (infant carseat) last weekend. We've also got the bassinet to go beside our bed for the first few weeks.
While we were at the baby expo I sat down in a glider chair and it was perfect. I'd be testing glider and rocking chairs out for a while but the arm rests were either too far apart or the head rest was too high or they just weren't comfy. But this one was awesome and it even reclined! So we bought it there and then. It's so so ugly, it's black and looks like a strange desk chair but it's that comfortable I could easily sleep in it now!
I also got a nursing pillow and a starter pack of cloth nappies (diapers). We watched a few demos of different brands and went with a one size fits most. I don't intend to use cloth full time, but even part time would ease the expense of disposables. I also got a nappy bag, but I'm not sure if I like it or if it's going to be practical. But it is pretty!
I think that's about everything. I'm starting to feel movements right down low and can feel when he kicks (or headbutts!) my bladder and cervix, but not from the outside just yet. No new stretch marks. Not wearing my wedding rings because my hands are that dry I'm constantly applying hand lotion and my wedding band was getting all gunky. Last week I was craving oranges but that's passed now. Onions, garlic, radishes and spicy foods are awful and set off my reflux.
I really want to try and write here more regularly. I want to be able to look back and remember what pregnancy was like for me with the good and the bad times.
0 comments:
Post a Comment