Pages

Monday, 16 September 2013

An update and our first IUI

So last Wednesday morning I had a super early ultrasound and blood test. I dragged the husband along with me, just in case Dr S was going to cancel the cycle. He was optimistic and said that my lining had grown and the lead follicle looked good. And that afternoon the nurse called me saying my numbers were 368. A nice improvement from the weekend!

Thursday I went in for another blood test and my numbers were rising nicely, so Friday morning I did the trigger shot! And that thing hurt like a bitch. The actual needle going in hurt and then when the medication went in it hurt even more, it was like a giant bee sting. The injection site stayed red and swollen for hours. And that afternoon I had waves of nausea and hot flushes. It was not nice at all!

Our iui was scheduled for 8am Saturday morning, on the weekends it's usually the on call doctor that does the iui but Dr S was consulting that morning so he came over in between appointments to do the iui, instead of Dr C who was on call.

I was really anxious, we were running late on Saturday to drop off the husbands sample. Nothing makes me more anxious than being late. When we went back for the iui I was a bit of a mess. I couldn't sit still and was making my husband a bit crazy. Plus the room we were in was hot which was making me feel worse.

Our nurse was working that Saturday too so she came in to assist Dr S. I don't like our nurse, she's overly chatting which irritates me. She also lied to me and said that the trigger shot would not hurt at all, it'd be just like the Gonal F and I'd barely feel it. When we first met with her, I asked if the iui would hurt or be uncomfortable she'd told me that it was just like having a pap smear. I have no problem with pap smears so I wasn't worried.

But she was wrong, that iui hurt. It was so uncomfortable I found myself holding my breath while tears welled up in my eyes. Dr S was asking her for something because my cervix was tilted and not co-operating but she was too busy trying to talk to me to listen to him so I was laying there while he asked her repeatedly to hand him things. Which made the procedure a few seconds (but felt like minutes or hours!) longer than it should have been. I had my husband there to hold my hand, I really just wanted her to do her job, not try and talk to me and distract me!

Once it was over I stayed laying down for 10 mins then we left. I dropped the husband off at work and went home to relax.

And now we wait. I have the unpleasant progestrone pessaries to do morning and night and a date for the beta blood test on the 30th September.

0 comments:

Post a Comment