Pages

Monday, 30 September 2013

IUI #1 = bfn....what next?

I wasn't overly confident that this first iui cycle would result in pregnancy.  There was just something niggling in the back of my mind. I think it was because it took me so long to actually have a good follicle.

And on the day of the IUI, my husbands sample wasn't that great. He's had a few anaylasis done, the first one his morphology count was low. The second one his morphology had improved but the overall count was low. And now the sample they used for the IUI, the count was even lower. Pre wash, it was 8 million. Post wash it was 2 million.

So I wasn't surprised at all when I got a few negative home pregnancy tests. But then on Saturday I got my usual monthly migraine. And Sunday night I had some spotting.

I went in for my beta blood work this morning and as expected it was a negative result. My progesterone was good (so it should be with the awful twice daily pessaries. So far they are the worst part of this journey for me.) and now I can stop with the pessaries and wait for my period to arrive.

The husband wanted us to take a months break, but I don't think I can do that. I just want to jump straight in and get this started.

But due to his low count, he has to do a repeat analysis this week. The nurse let me know that if it's still low again, we'll have a meeting with Dr S and discuss the next step. We could be making the jump straight to IVF or even ICSI. That is not what I wanted to hear and that news upset me. It's made me all teary, because now I have to tell my husband this.

We'd discussed doing another IUI, it hadn't even crossed our minds that we could potentially be moving onto IVF or ICSI so soon. Our fs will do up to four IUIs before he recommends moving on to IVF.

It's just thrown me. Every time I think something will be simple we get thrown for a loop and things turn out to be more complicated than we expected.


0 comments:

Post a Comment