Pages

Wednesday, 9 October 2013

Another cycle starts

I started the FSH shots again last Wednesday. I was a bit unsure about starting this cycle while waiting for the results of the husbands repeat SA. I rang the clinic and got our super chatty nurse. As much as I've complained about her, I have to say that she has been pretty great the last few times I've seen or spoken to her. And she handled the news of the negative pregnancy test really well, she was professional and sympathetic. I think she was more upset about the negative pregnancy test than I was!

She spoke to me for ages and helped me decide if we should go straight to this cycle or take a break. She recommended starting another cycle straight away because best case scenario - the husbands sample on the IUI day was just a once off low result and we just keep on track with this IUI cycle. Worst case scenario - his count is still low and we have a meeting with the FS who'll either cancel this cycle or turn it into an IVF cycle. Knowing our FS is quite cautious I think he'd cancel it rather then swap to IVF midway through. Either way I'm ok with it.

I'm trying to be positive this time around, so thinking positive only thoughts I started with the shots again on day 2. Plus, I had a leftover pen of Gonal F that I'd only used once sitting in the fridge and was already paid from from our last cycle. If we cancel this cycle then I only have to pay for half the meds.

I'm pretty sure that the increased dose of FSH is working, last cycle it wasn't until around day 16 that I had a dominate follicle at 1.6. I had no real side effects that cycle either. This cycle I've been a bit more teary and the last two days, day 8 and 9, I've had a bit of cramping, well, not real cramping just sort of twinges near my ovaries. I'm a bit bloated too.

Tomorrow on day 10 I go in for my first monitoring blood test. I'm really hoping that everything is on track with the blood work and the results of the husbands SA.




0 comments:

Post a Comment