Pages

Friday, 11 October 2013

The bad day

I swear, some of the nurses at my fertility clinic have the worst bedside manner. I went in yesterday morning for the first monitoring blood test of this IUI cycle. I hadn't seen this nurse before and she was awful.

Before she took my blood she asked if I'd been for a scan. I said that I hadn't, I was just in for my first blood test. She told me that it was strange I hadn't had a scan (last time I didn't have a scan this early) when I explained I was at day 10 not day 14 she asked why I was in to have my blood taken so early in the cycle. I didn't know why, it was just what Nurse J told me to do and what happened last cycle.

She took my blood and I asked if the husbands interim SA results were in. She read through them and then turned to me and asked why we were bothering to do a second IUI with borderline results and why hadn't we seen Dr S to talk about ICSI. She then said that when this cycle isn't successful we should definitely meet with Dr S to talk about moving on.  No if, just when. Nice. So it's day 10 and she's already predicting this cycle will be a failure.

I had to get out of there, she was so negative and was talking to me as if I was making the wrong decision and was going against the clinics directions, so I grabbed my bag and stood up heading for the door. I knew I was going to cry at any minute and I didn't want to start crying in the clinic because then I'd have to walk out of there and through the hospital to get to the car park.

I got to the car park and rang the husband. He was still at home but in a rush to get out the door to work and didn't have time to hear about the results. I got home and cried. Then managed to pick a fight with him again a few hours later over where he'd left a receipt. He called me back on his lunch break and I told him what had happened this morning. He was not impressed with what the nurse had said or how she'd said it.

By this stage I'd had a few hours to think about it and I was ready to call Dr S and ask for this cycle to be cancelled. I'd worked myself up into a teary mess and I couldn't see a reason why to continue with it. Especially when the nurse rang me back to say my estrogen levels were only at 173. By nature my husband is a laid back and positive guy, the opposite to me. He calmed me down and told me that we might as well give this cycle a try. We're already 10 days into it so there's no harm in seeing it through.

And then my day got worse. Six weeks ago we ordered a new sofa, we had to wait for it to be made and it was delivered yesterday afternoon. Except it wouldn't fit through the basement door to the lift. The only thing stopping it was the legs on the sofa and of course the delivery guys didn't have a drill or screwdriver to take them off. I had no idea where the screwdrivers were in our apartment so in the end they just left the sofa in our car space.

I was in a panic, I'd had a bad day with the nurse and the clinic. And now the sofa I'd waited so long for wasn't going to fit in the door way. I was picturing having to return the sofa and wait another six weeks to have another one made. Of course it made me cry. It was just the icing on the cake.

Eventually, after a few hours lots and lots of cursing the husband and I got the sofa into our apartment. But I was such a drama and a lot of messing around. I felt awful, I'd had a nurse with the bedside manner of a brick, I'd argued with the husband and then had to spend ages fighting to get the sofa through the door. It was just a bad day.

0 comments:

Post a Comment