Pages

Friday, 22 March 2013

Well, that was awkward...and depressing

I went and had my ultrasound this afternoon. I was a bit nervous so was sending texts to my husband about how bad I had to pee and how unfair it was that they were running late. I have a small bladder, I always have to pee and when I'm anxious it's even worse.

I finally got called in and the ultrasound was going ok, until the sonographer asked if I'd ever had an internal ultrasound before. I have and while it's awkward and uncomfortable I know it's the way they get the best images.

I wasn't paying attention when they were scanning my right ovary I was too busy staring at the ceiling, willing myself to relax. Once I remembered there was a screen to look at, they'd moved onto scanning my left ovary.

I could see the cysts straight away.

After a few minutes the sonographer asked if I'd been diagnosed with having cysts before. I replied that I had and asked if there cysts showing up on the scan. I got standard answer that the report will be sent to my doctor by tomorrow morning.

I was fine until I got in the car and send my husband a text to let him know that the scan was over (and that I'd finally had a chance to pee!) and I was heading to the deli to get some gelato. Then the tears started, I just couldn't help it. And then I had to sit in the car until I stopped crying and wait a few minutes until my eyes and nose weren't as red and puffy.

I know once my husband gets home from work I'm going to cry again. I know there's nothing definite until we get the results of all the tests from the doctor, but I seriously didn't want or expect to see cysts.

It's the first true sign that there's something wrong with me. And it's at the worst timing too, my husband will be away this weekend so he won't even be here to cheer me up.


0 comments:

Post a Comment