After a few days of spotting my period turned up, which meant I could finally go and get this last blood test done. I went to the lab at my doctors surgery and the same nurse was working again.
This time she didn't repeatedly ask me if I'm pregnant. Instead she just couldn't find a vein. I'd done everything right, I drank heaps of water before hand. I'd eaten a decent sized lunch and also taken my packet of lifesavers with me. If it's not a fasting blood test I like to have one or two lollies before and after the blood test, it's just a bit of a distraction.
I know that sometimes it can be hard to find a vein on me, but I've never had a nurse or tech tell me that can't do the blood test today and to come back in a few days. She'd only checked one arm, and then only had one attempt. When I told her that I couldn't come back in a few days because the test had to be done on this day of my cycle, she just told me to come back tomorrow.
I don't mind if they have to dig around to find the vein or have a few attempts. Just let me know so I know that it's going to hurt. It's a blood test, I don't expect it to be painless.
I went home and rang mum for advice. When I saw mum and dad over the weekend to do the car swap, I didn't mention that my husband and I were ttc. When the topic of a new car came up, I just mentioned that next time around, I would probably go for a car that's slightly bigger. They didn't question it and I didn't have to explain why.
So today I told mum what happened with the nurse and mum told me to ring around and find another QML lab nearby and go to there instead. Which is exactly what I did. I ended up going down to the specialist lab down at the private hospital, it's where we had to go when my husband had to do his test.
The girl there was lovely, she had to poke and prod at my arm a lot but eventually she got enough blood for the test. When I got home I rang mum to update her and let her know that the other lab had done the trick. It was then that she asked what the test was for. I could hear it in her voice, the hopefulness. She so badly wants to be a grandmother. Probably as much as I want to be pregnant and a mother. When I told mum it was a hormone and iron study I could her the little bit of sadness, nearly disappointment in her voice. She hid it quickly and changed the topic but I still heard it.
That kills me, I wasn't at all upset about my period arriving until I heard mums voice. I know she was waiting for me to say the test is because I'm pregnant.
First I can't get pregnant, now it's a struggle to even get blood from me to find out why. I had a bit of a teary moment this afternoon, but it wasn't for long.
Tonight I've got to sit down with my husband and work out a time to go and see the doctor. The results of todays blood work will be in by lunch time Wednesday. So we'd planned to go to the doctor on Thursday morning before work.
But Thursday is a public holiday for Anzac day, so I'm not even sure if the medical centre is open, or if my doctor is working. I'll have to call tomorrow and find out. I really would like to know the results of all these tests and scans.
0 comments:
Post a Comment